Coachof the Year Award Named After John Hoos

John Hoos has several accomplishments as the coach of the Ice Dogs. He has made his mark in other areas of the game, from helping to start several tournaments, to the idea of SEC hockey. Commissioner Sarge Day of the SECHC made sure Hoos would be honored for that, with the John Hoos Coach of the Year Award.

This year, the award was given to Mike Quenneville (right) of Alabama, who finished his frist season as head coach.

As Georgia’s head coach, Hoos has led the Ice Dogs to 11 winning seasons and 7 national tournament appearances. In 2004, he led Georgia all the way to the National Championship game. Georgia brought home it’s first ever hockey championship with Hoos behind the bench winning the 2000 Thrasher Cup at the Memorial Health Hockey Classic in Savannah, GA, and has won the tournament 4 times since.

As an administrator of the game, Coach Hoos has secured high profile events such as College Hockey Night in the Philips Arena, the Omni, and the new Gwinnett Center Arena in conjunction with the Atlanta Thrashers, Atlanta Knights, and Gwinnett Gladiators. Hoos was integral in the formation of the annual Savannah Hockey Classic, the annual Georgia/Florida hockey game played in Jacksonville, FL, and this season’s first ever College Hockey Clash in Columbus, GA.

Perhaps Hoos’ biggest accomplishment as an advocate of the game of hockey, especially in the South, has come in recent years. Coach Hoos had the initial idea behind SEC hockey. After teaming up with Kenny ‘Sarge’ Day, the duo have helped put together the 11-team organization known as the South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference. Hoos is the lead organizer of the conference and serves as Division Coordinator.